Ambitions Partnership

Daffodils set the standard for end of life care

Not yet rated

RCGP and Marie Curie UK General Practice Core Standards for Advanced Serious Illness and End of Life Care. The Daffodil Standards are a blend of quality statements, evidence-based tools, reflective learning exercises and quality improvement steps.

GP surgeries will now be able to display a ‘daffodil mark’ as a sign of commitment to improving end of life care, as part of a new partnership between the Royal College of GPs and the terminal illness charity Marie Curie. By adopting the Standards, GP practices commit to making improvements in at least three of eight core aspects of care each year, with the aim of having reviewed all of them after three years. The eight Daffodil Standards are:

1.  Professional and competent staff

2. Early identification of patients and carers

3. Carer support - before and after death

4. Seamless, planned and coordinated care

5. Assessment of unique needs for the patient


Resource details

Provider's catalogue badge
Contributed by: Ambitions Partnership
Authored by: Marie Curie
Royal College of General Practitioners
Licence: More information on licences
Last updated: 30 December 2020
First contributed: 08 October 2020
Audience access level: Full user


0 ratings

Not yet rated
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Report an issue with this resource

You may report a resource, for example, if there is an issue with copyright infringement, breach of personal data, factual inaccuracies, typing errors or safety concerns. The type of issue will determine whether the resource is immediately removed from the platform or if the contributor is asked to make amendments. You can report a resource from the resource information page or by contacting the Learning Hub support team.

You can contact the Learning Hub support team by completing the support form or if you have a general enquiry you can email